General Questions about Kasa Care

Q&A of functional explanation or specification parameters
Updated 07-13-2020 08:06:26 AM
This Article Applies to: 

We released the new Kasa Care service on March 23, 2020. For detailed information about the new Kasa Care service, please refer to What is Kasa Care.

Here is what you might want to know about the new Kasa Care service.

Information related to the free trial

Q1: Is there a free trial for the Kasa Care plan?

With the new Kasa Care service, every Kasa account is eligible to sign up for a free trial for the new Kasa Care plan once.

To view the Kasa Care plan, open the sidebar by tapping the “≡” button in the upper left corner of the Kasa app and select Kasa Care.

https://static.tp-link.com/picture_11_1552615878362m.png

 

Q2: Can I get a free trial for the new Kasa Care if I already had a free trial of the legacy Kasa Care plan?

Yes! Every Kasa account is eligible for a one-time free trial of the new Kasa Care services.

 

Q3: How many free trials can I have for the Kasa Care plan?

Each Kasa account is eligible to sign up for a free trial once.

 

Q4: Can I cancel a free trial?

Yes. You can cancel a free trial at any time from the Kasa app. Do note, however, that your account will not be eligible for another free trial after the cancellation.

 

Information related to User Migration

Q5: How to migrate from the legacy Kasa Care plans to the new Kasa Care plans?

If you have active legacy Kasa Care subscriptions for your Kasa Cameras, you can migrate to the new Kasa Care plan on your Kasa app. To view your options, open the sidebar by tapping the “≡” button in the upper left corner of the Kasa app and select Kasa Care.

To migrate and upgrade, please click on “Upgrade to New Plans” and you will be taken to the new Kasa Care ‘Select Services’ screen. You could just follow the subscription instructions to finish the migration. All legacy Kasa Care subscriptions will be terminated, and the prorated refund will be issued to your credit or debit card on file.

You can also cancel your existing subscription first and subscribe to a new Kasa Care plan later. Upon cancellation, all legacy Kasa Care subscriptions will be terminated, and the prorated refund will be issued to your credit or debit card on file.

Please note that once you’ve completed all the steps of “Upgrade to New Plans” or “Cancel Subscription,” you cannot purchase the legacy Kasa Care plans again.

Migration is one way and cannot be undone.

Please contact TP-Link support if you see a message reporting that “This subscription cannot be refunded” while migrating to the new Kasa Care plan.

 

Q6: Do I still have access to the legacy Kasa Care’s free features after I cancel my legacy service?

First, you will be refunded when you cancel the legacy Kasa Care Plans. After cancellation, your Kasa Cameras will automatically revert to the legacy Kasa Care’s free features:

·         KC100 and KC110 will still have 12 hours of free cloud storage for 2 years from the original setup date.

·         KC120 and KC200 will still have 48 hours of free cloud storage for 2 years from the original setup date.

Depending on the camera, you will have one or two years of free cloud storage. 

Any paid subscriptions will not pause the countdown clock on your free storage.

 

Please note that once you’ve canceled a legacy Kasa Care plan or migrated to a new Kasa Care plan, you cannot subscribe to the legacy Kasa Care plans again.

 

Q7: Can I keep my existing legacy Kasa Care plan for my Kasa Camera?

Yes. You can keep your existing legacy Kasa Care plan. However, if you cancel or make changes to your plan, you will not be able to return to the legacy plan. You can switch to a new Kasa Care plan anytime from the Kasa app.

 

Q8: Can I alter my legacy Kasa Care plan?

You cannot make other changes to your legacy Kasa Care subscriptions.

You can cancel your legacy Kasa Care plan or migrate to a new Kasa Care plan at any time.

 

Plan cancellation and change

Q9: Can I cancel or change my Kasa Care subscription?

Yes. Your Kasa Care plan cancellation/change will take effect immediately. All video history outside of the new plan limits will be erased and cannot be recovered.

Either a prorated refund or a prorated credit will be issued accordingly. 

If you still have one or more cameras in your Kasa Care subscription, you’ll get a prorated credit applied to your next bill.

Note: Your Kasa Care subscription can either be billed monthly or annually. You can found the current billing cycle (next invoice date) by tapping on the Kasa Care in the sidebar of the Kasa app. 

If you wish to change your billing cycle, you may tap on the Kasa Care in the sidebar, canceling the current subscription and create a new one.

                                                Refund Policy Summary Table

Billing Cycle

Canceling your plan

Downgrading your plan (moving from Premium to Plus plan)

Monthly/Annual

Effective Date: Camera subscription canceled immediately.

 

Refund: Prorated refund

Effective Date: Camera moved to Plus plan immediately.

 

Refund: Prorated credit

 

 

Other Questions

Q10: Can I add more than 10 cameras to one premium plan subscription?

No. The maximum number of cameras under one Premium Plan subscription is 10. If you want to enable Kasa Care service for more than 10 cameras, you can sign up for another Kasa account or change all cameras to Plus Plan. Plus Plan subscriptions are per camera and there is no maximum camera limit.

 

Q11: Can I subscribe to both Plus and Premium Plans at the same time for one Kasa account?

No. Only one subscription type is allowed per Kasa account.

 

Q12: Does my Kasa camera still have a free cloud recording?

Models

Inclusive Free Recording

KC100

Rolling 12-hour video history for 2 years

KC105

No free cloud recording

(Add microSD card to enable free local 24/7 recording)

KC110

Rolling 12-hour video history for 2 years

KC115

No free cloud recording

(Add microSD card to enable free local 24/7 recording)

KC120

Rolling 2-day video history for 2 years

KC200

Rolling 2-day video history for 2 years

Note: The 2-year/1-year free plan starts timing after the camera is set up successfully.

 

Q13: Does my Kasa camera still have free plan if I cancel my subscription plans?

Yes! You always have the Free Plan for the Kasa camera. When you cancel the paid plan, the camera will go back to the free plan with 12 hours or 2 days of video history. Please note the free plan starts timing after the camera is set up successfully. The free plan will be unavailable only when it expires.

 

If you need further assistance, please contact TP-Link Technical Support here.

 

Sign up for news & offersTP-Link takes your privacy seriously. For further details on TP-Link's privacy practices, see TP-Link's Privacy Policy.