[FAQ ID: 254]How to change the Network Sharing Settings on TP-LINK wireless routers?

Concerne les produits de type: Archer C2, Archer C20i, Archer C5, Archer C7, TL-WDR3500, TL-WDR3600, TL-WDR4300, TL-WDR4900, TL-WR1042ND, TL-WR1043ND, TL-WR2543ND, TL-WR842ND

Step 1 Open the web browser and log into the router's web interface. For how to log in please click here .

Note:We take TL-WR1043ND V1 as example in this article. Other models' default access could be 192.168.0.1 or tplinklogin.net.

 

Step 2  On the left menu, go to USB Settings, and then User Accounts. Click on Add New User or Edit to add or modify user account.

Note: In default settings, there are two items that cannot be deleted and Username cannot be modified. Besides, two more items can be added. About the new item, it can be deleted. Besides, User Name, Password, Storage Authority and FTP Access can be modified.

 

 

Step 3 Please restart the network sharing service to make the new settings take effect. You can click the Stop button and then Start shown as below:

 

 

 

Warning! Sometimes, after change User Accounts on the router, following windows may stop you to access to shared files, which caused by recorded user account in your computer.

 

 

 

That can be solved by deleting it. On your computer, please click Start, and then click on Run and type in run in search box.

If you used to visit the shared files by \\192.168.1.1, please delete recorded user account on your computer with net use\\192.168.1.1/delete/yes ;

If you used to visit the shared files by \\192.168.1.1\share name , please delete recorded user account on your computer with net use\\192.168.1.1\share name/delete/yes .

It is still cannot solve the problem, it is suggested to restart your computer. When login window comes up, please login with new user account.

If you are not sure how to access  the USB strorage on your computers,please click here.